Publishing Triangle join us    our mission    resources 
sign in    

events calendar
contact us
photo album

The 2007 Publishing Triangle Award Finalists

Honoring books published in 2006, the Publishing Triangle awards were presented the evening of Monday, May 7, 2007, in the Tishman Auditorium, The New School, New York. The Robert Chesley Foundation also honored two artists that evening, and the Publishing Triangle bestowed its Bill Whitehead Award for Lifetime Achievement.

The winners and finalists in the nonfiction, fiction, and poetry categories are:

    The Judy Grahn Award for Lesbian Nonfiction
    WINNER! Alison Bechdel, Fun Home (Houghton Mifflin)
    Catherine Friend, Hit by a Farm (Marlowe & Company)
    Marcia Gallo, Different Daughters (Carroll & Graf)

    The Randy Shilts Award for Gay Nonfiction
    Bernard Cooper, The Bill from My Father (Simon & Schuster)
    Rigaberto Gonzalez, Butterfly Boy (University of Wisconsin Press)
    WINNER! Kenji Yoshino, Covering (Random House)

    The Ferro-Grumley Award for Fiction: Women
    Rebecca Brown, The Last Time I Saw You (City Lights)
    WINNER! Lisa Carey, Every Visible Thing (William Morrow)
    Ivan E. Coyote, Bow Grip (Arsenal Pulp Press)

    The Ferro-Grumley Awards for Fiction: Men
    WINNER! Christopher Bram, Exiles in America (William Morrow)
    Martin Hyatt, A Scarecrow’s Bible (Suspect Thoughts Press)
    Stephen McCauley, Alternatives to Sex (Simon & Schuster)

    The Audre Lorde Award for Lesbian Poetry
    Robin Becker, The Domain of Perfect Affection (University of Pittsburgh Press)
    Kate Lynn Hibbard, Sleeping Upside Down (Silverfish Review Press)
    WINNER! Jennifer Rose, Hometown for an Hour (Ohio University Press)

    The Thom Gunn Award for Gay Male Poetry
    WINNER! Justin Chin, Gutted (Manic D Press)
    Jim Elledge, A History of My Tattoo (Stonewall)
    Greg Hewett, The Eros Conspiracy (Coffee House Press)

    The Edmund White Award for Debut Fiction
    WINNER! Martin Hyatt, A Scarecrow’s Bible (Suspect Thoughts Press)
    Alex McLennan, The Zookeeper (Alyson Books)
    Eduardo Santiago, Tomorrow They Will Kiss (Little Brown)

The recipient of the 2007 Bill Whitehead Award for Lifetime Achievement is Andrew Holleran. The award is named in honor of a legendary editor of the 1970s and 1980s. A Harvard graduate, Holleran burst onto the literary scene in 1978 with his first novel, Dancer from the Dance. His latest novel, Grief, a haunting reflection on life and loss in the nation’s capital, has also won the 2007 Stonewall Award for Literature. His other works are the novels Nights in Aruba and The Beauty of Men; Ground Zero, a collection of essays; and In September, the Light Changes, a volume of stories. Holleran lives in Florida and in Washington, D.C., where he teaches creative writing at American University. The Bill Whitehead Award is given to a man in odd-numbered years and a woman in even years.

In addition, the Publishing Triangle presented a special Leadership Award to Nancy Bereano, in recognition of her long and distinguished service to GLBT literature, especially while the head of Firebrand, the groundbreaking lesbian press.

The Robert Chesley Foundation, named for the late playwright whose play Night Sweats was the first play about AIDS to be staged in the United States, presented its 2006 awards for playwriting. This year’s co-winners are Eric Bentley (Lifetime Achievement Award) and Chris Weikel (Emerging Artist). Past Chesley recipients include Rebecca Ranson, Jane Shepard, Maria Irene Fornes, Christopher Shinn, Doric Wilson, Lisa Kron, Susan Miller, Robert Patrick, Victor Lodato, Chey Yu, Madeline Olnek, Jeff Weiss, Rev. Al Carmines, H. M. Koutoukas, and Michael Kearns.

To view a complete list of past Triangle Award winners, visit our awards page. There you will also find information about special privileges that Publishing Triangle members have in nominating books and authors for these literary awards.

This page was last updated on May 8, 2007.