Publishing Triangle join us    our mission    resources 
sign in    

events calendar
contact us
photo album

The 2006 Publishing Triangle Award Finalists

Honoring books published in 2005, the Publishing Triangle awards will be presented the evening of Thursday, May 11, 2006, in the Tishman Auditorium, The New School, 66 West 12th Street, New York, N.Y. The event is free and open to the public.

The winners and finalists in the nonfiction, fiction, and poetry categories are:

    The Randy Shilts Award for Gay Nonfiction
    Thomas Glave, Words to Our Now (University of Minnesota Press)
    Neil McKenna, The Secret Life of Oscar Wilde (Basic Books)
    WINNER! Martin Moran, The Tricky Part (Beacon Press)

    The Judy Grahn Award for Lesbian Nonfiction
    WINNER! Tania Katan, My One-Night Stand with Cancer (Alyson Books)
    Gretchen Legler, On the Ice (Milkweed Editions)
    Diana Souhami, Wild Girls (St. Martin’s Press)

    The Thom Gunn Award for Gay Male Poetry
    Frank Bidart, Star Dust (Farrar Straus Giroux)
    Peter Covino, Cut Off the Ears of Winter (New Issues)
    WINNER! Richard Siken, Crush (Yale University Press)

    The Audre Lorde Award for Lesbian Poetry
    Djuna Barnes, Collected Poems with Notes Toward the Memoirs, edited by Phillip Herring and Osias Stutman (University of Wisconsin Press)
    June Jordan, Directed by Desire, edited by Jan Heller Levi and Sara Miles (Copper Canyon)
    WINNER! Jane Miller, A Palace of Pearls (Copper Canyon)

    The Ferro-Grumley Award for Fiction: Women
    Brenda Brooks, Gotta Find Me an Angel (Raincoast Books)
    Ivan E. Coyote, Loose End (Arsenal Pulp Press)
    WINNER! Patricia Grossman, Brian in Three Seasons (Permanent Press)

    The Ferro-Grumley Awards for Fiction: Men
    Darren Greer, Still Life With June (St. Martin's Press)
    WINNER! Barry McCrea, The First Verse (Carroll & Graf)
    Douglas A. Martin, Branwell (Soft Skull Press)

    The Edmund White Award for Debut Fiction
    Charlie Anders, Choir Boy (Soft Skull Press)
    WINNER! Mack Friedman, Setting the Lawn on Fire (University of Wisconsin Press)
    Katia Noyes, Crashing America (Alyson Books)

The recipient of the 2006 Bill Whitehead Award for Lifetime Achievement is Karla Jay. The award is named in honor of a legendary editor of the 1970s and 1980s. Jay has written, edited, co-edited, and translated ten books, including Out of the Closets: Voices of Gay Liberation; Lesbian Texts and Contexts: Radical Revisions; Dyke Life; and her most recent work, Tales of the Lavender Menace: A Memoir of Liberation. She is a professor of English and of women’s and gender studies at Pace University in New York City. Celebrated as “a vital and unique catalyst and contributor to gay and lesbian culture because of her dual position as both activist and academic” (Gay and Lesbian Quarterly), she has committed her life to helping others--including women, minorities, and students--find self-respect, political liberation, and community involvement. The Bill Whitehead Award is given to a man in odd-numbered years and a woman in even years.

In addition, the Publishing Triangle presented a special Leadership Award to Oscar Wilde Bookshop, the longtime independent bookstore in New York City’s Greenwich Village. In the fall of 1967, when gay activist Craig Rodwell opened Oscar Wilde, it was the first gay bookstore in the world. For almost 40 years, the store has served the needs of the gay and lesbian community. It is a “destination” location for international gay and lesbian travelers, and under the leadership of former manager and new owner Kim Brinster, it plans to continue to stock its shelves with the finest lesbian and gay books for many years to come. For its courage, longevity, and service, Oscar Wilde Bookshop truly deserves this leadership award.

The Robert Chesley Foundation, named for the late playwright whose play Night Sweats was the first play about AIDS to be staged in the United States, presented its 2005 awards for playwriting. This year’s co-winners are Megan Terry (Lifetime Achievement Award) and Kathleen Warnock (Emerging Artist). Past Chesley recipients include Rebecca Ranson, Jane Shepard, Maria Irene Fornes, Christopher Shinn, Doric Wilson, Lisa Kron, Susan Miller, Robert Patrick, Victor Lodato, Chey Yu, Madeline Olnek, Jeff Weiss, Rev. Al Carmines, H. M. Koutoukas, and Michael Kearns.

To view a complete list of past Triangle Award winners, visit our awards page. There you will also find information about special privileges that Publishing Triangle members have in nominating books and authors for these literary awards.

This page was last updated on May 11, 2006.